Posted by: spectroswdwblog | June 8, 2009

Damn You Free Dining Plan!

free diningSo I am finally starting to catch up from the last vacation and I remember I have to make ADRs (advanced dining reservations) for our August trip.  Kim and I have decided on what restaurants we want and I call 407-WDW-DINE.  We had 3 places we wanted to eat at Le Cellier in the Canada Pavilion over at Epcot, Ohona located at Disney’s Polynesian Resort, and Whispering Canyon Cafe` at the Wilderness Lodge.  Now I know I am a little late, Disney allows making reservations 90 days before your first day but my 90 day mark was the Sunday I was on property and I learned you can’t make ADRs for upcoming trips at the hotel, you still have to call WDW-DINE.  So I waited until I got home and called 85 days out.  Well what a huge mistake that was.  I ended up being able to book NONE, NATA, ZIP, ZERO, NEITS, MOO-KA-CHI, and EKKERT (the last one is Icelandic) of the restaurants we wanted.  Out of the three I wanted only Whispering Canyon had a table but it wasn’t until 8:40pm, The other 2 had no openings.  I was not feeling the magic as the reservation cast member who was on the phone with me was frantically typing on her keyboard telling me “well give me a second to try this, hmm nothing, hold on I have another place I could… no nothing there either”.  I was on the phone for over an hour and had to settle for what I could get for the time I wanted. So the moral of the story is, if you have your heart set on a popular place, make your book on your 90 day mark especially if you are traveling during the free dining promotion.

Leave a Reply

Categories

